Menu

Bastos Design Award for young architects

Salon Promote 2019

While participating in the 2019 edition of the Salon Promote in Yaoundé during which Bastos Design signed an important partnership agreement with the National Order of Architects of Cameroon, our company decided to promote an interior decoration contest for young Cameroonian architects.

The objective of this contest consisted in presenting a proposal for the layout of a 4-star hotel room featuring a balance between Cameroonian traditional culture and modern style.

The winning project, designed by Frank Dongmo and Darel Fouelifack, interpreted the hotel room as a point of passage able to spotlight local cultural richness understood as both materials used and symbolism and culture.
For this project, they chose woods native to Cameroon (Sapelli, Iroko, Padouk, Moabi), Bamboo and Pouma Stone, and they also integrated abstract patterns that evoke and symbolise traditional western Cameroonian textiles.

Menu

Prix Bastos Design pour les jeunes architectes

Salon Promote 2019

Dans le cadre de la participation à l'édition 2019 du Salon Promote de Yaoundé durant lequel Bastos Design a signé un important accord de partenariat avec l'Ordre National des Architectes du Cameroun, notre entreprise a décidé de promouvoir un concours de décoration d'intérieur destiné aux jeunes architectes camerounais.

L'objectif du concours réside dans la présentation d'une proposition d'aménagement d'une chambre d'hôtel 4 étoiles, caractérisée par un équilibre entre la tradition culturelle du Cameroun et la modernité.

Le projet lauréat, présenté par Frank Dongmo et Darel Fouelifack, a interprété la chambre d'hôtel comme un point de passage à même d'illustrer la richesse locale envisagée à la fois au regard des matériaux utilisés qu'au niveau symbolique et culturel.
C'est pourquoi les matériaux choisis sont des essences présentes au Cameroun (Sapelli, Iroko, Padouk, Moabi), Bambou et Pierre de Pouma, et qu'au projet, ont été intégrés des motifs abstraits qui rappellent et symbolisent les tissages des régions ouest du Cameroun.